Steamed Buns and Gray Sky

Max Goes to Shanghai

South Korea

South Korea 053

Currently in-transit back to Chicago, and I cannot wait to see everybody. I put in an official request with my mom for one-day-old potato salad, as I’ve been craving that more than any food this summer (potato salad is sooo much better after its been in the fridge for awhile). I made one final stop in South Korea to see the sites in Seoul before I head stateside, which made for a lovely weekend. Seoul is beautiful, and it was really interesting to compare and contrast the place with Shanghai. There were many differences, but most noticeable was the fact that I could access this blog without having to illegally rent a VPN (that is how I’ve been writing these posts all summer).

I met up with the cousin of a friend of mine, and she was nice enough to spend the day showing me the sites:

Image(Gyeongbokgung Palace) Yeah, good luck pronouncing that.

Image

Street Market:

Image

Seoul Tower:

Image

View of Gangam (like the song) from the tower:

Image

Hannah(my host) was incredibly kind. She studies animal theology, which I had no idea was a thing. So I had many questions, and conversation was not lacking.

6 more hours until I’m home! My final Kemper Conference is in two days, and I will produce one more post about those two days to close this blog out. Thank you to everybody that has followed me and commented this summer. It meant a lot to be able to share my experiences in real-time with supportive friends and family.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on August 4, 2013 by in In Transit.